Detroit In The Cross-Hairs

I mentioned in the previous post that there seems to be a rise in defensive use of fire arms in Detroit. Well, those aren’t my exact words, but that was my thought. I also thought that perhaps it was just because I live in the Detroit area that I am hypersensitive to the issue. But then, I came across this just a couple minutes ago.

An article in the Detroit News comments on the exact same thing. Here is the money line from the article: “Detroit Police Chief James Craig said at a press conference last week that in his 37-year career, he’s never seen as many homeowners defending themselves by shooting intruders.”

So, it seems as though my initial thinking is correct. While I applaud homeowners for fighting back, I find it worrisome. My question is; is it that more homeowners are defending themselves with the 2nd Amendment, or is it that there are more home invasions? Regardless of the answer, my personal advice to homeowners is to make sure you take classes on the proper use of firearms. We don’t want you hurting yourselves or innocents. Also, don’t go running down the street firing after thugs. And don’t follow Vice-President Biden’s advice and fire in the air or ground. Those projectiles are going to go somewhere. Only fire what you are aiming at, and make sure you know where you are aiming. Range time is critical as well, so you will hit where you aim. But all of that should come out in the classes.

This entry was posted in Guns to the Defense, Talking about guns and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

